Three Less Intermittent Bloggers

I notice over on Richard T Kelly’s blog a post about, erm, blogging. More specifically, he pays tribute to Andrew Sullivan‘s efforts in the field, and quotes him quoting Matt Drudge: “the key to understanding a blog is to realize that it’s a broadcast, not a publication. If it stops moving, it dies. If it stops paddling, it sinks.”

This strikes me as just right, and rather shames us here at The Story and the Truth. Given how often we say ‘well put that on the blog’, we do let it rather sink now and then. I suppose, as Kelly points out, the key is whether or not you want your readership to be more than people you know personally – anonymous surfers are content hungry, whilst your mates forgive you your absences. (They are in fact likely often pretty happy for them.)

Blogs are undoubtedly more for running comment than they are for posterity. We’ll attempt a little harder to let our comment at least jog.

3 thoughts on “Three Less Intermittent Bloggers

  1. It’s a good point you make – our stats languish if our blog goes dormant for even a few days.However, I’m of the opinion that it’s a shame the word ‘blogger’ gained prevalence; it sometimes seems as if there is a defined idea of what a blog should be and how readers should treat one, when its uses are so diverse.

    I see our WordPress as a publishing tool – for me, it’s a method of putting our writing out there, whther we’re posting once a day or once a week. I’ve never really wanted to be a ‘blogger’, I’m more interested in people interacting with my opinions, whether I’m writing about something of the moment or not. I guess it depends on your topic.

  2. I think that’s a good way to look at it, and as Kelly points out a lot of Drudge’s points only apply if you want millions to read you – which most of us do not. I suppose to get people to interact with your opinions requires you to encourage them to read them, and one way of doing that is to let them know there’ll always be something new to read; but, yes, there’s more to blogging than traffic.

Leave a Reply

